Ontario/Central region

AAA Championships

OHF Championship Hosts Gearing up to Welcome Top Minor Hockey Teams

Minor hockey communities are preparing to welcome top teams from the Ontario Hockey Federation for the 2019 OHF Championships this April.

Being held in arenas across the province, the OHF Championships are a three-day event that produces OHF Branch Champions at the Atom A, AA, AAA, PeeWee A, AA, Bantam A, AA, Midget A, AA and Juvenile divisions.

Over the duration of the event, hosts will welcome near 100 players from five teams taking part in the Championship to battle it out for the title.

“We want to be a great Host City that allows players, parents and officials to have a year-ending tournament that they will remember as they grow older,” said Kristen Cleary, host committee chair for the PeeWee A Championship. “Our team goal is to continue building positive momentum during the final weekend of play and to compete against the ‘Best of the Best’ that Peewee A hockey has to deliver in Ontario.”

For many, Championships are the pinnacle event for minor hockey players from Atom through to Midget, serving as the only tournaments to crown the best team from each level across the OHF. The selected hosts have a special responsibility to not only provide a first class event, but also to showcase the success they have found as a team throughout the season.

“The comradery displayed by the entire team has been strong all season and evident both on and off the ice.  On the ice, the players are driven by our team goal of working hard and pulling the rope together to be our best by the Provincial weekend.  Off the ice, the players have developed strong friendships and the many laughs,” said Shelley Wira, host committee chair for the PeeWee AA Championship. “We don’t know what the Provincials hold for this team, but we are certain win or lose, that we forever will remember the opportunity to be Jets and the wonderful memories the Provincials and the entire season has provided.”

Ten associations from across the Ontario Hockey Federation will be hosting a Championship. This year, the hosts are as follows:

Atom A                 Kapuskasing Minor Hockey Association at the Kapuskasing Sports Palace (NOHA)

Atom AA              Belle River District Minor Hockey Association at the Atlas Tube Centre (OMHA)

Atom AAA            Elgin Middlesex Chiefs at the Komoka Wellness Centre (ALLIANCE)

PeeWee A             Burlington Lions Optimist Minor Hockey Association at the Central Recreation Centre (ALLIANCE)

PeeWee AA      Mississauga Jets at the Vic Johnston Arena (GTHL)

Bantam A             Temiskaming Shores Minor Hockey Association at the Don Sheperdson Memorial Arena (NOHA)

Bantam AA           Hamilton Huskies at the Dave Andreychuk Mountain Arena (ALLIANCE)

Midget A              Woolwich Minor Hockey Association at the Woolwich Memorial Centre (OMHA)

Midget AA            Hearst Minor Hockey Association at the Claude Larose Arena (NOHA)

Juvenile                Toronto Aeros at the Herbert H. Carnegie Centennial Centre (GTHL)

The OHF Championships will run from April 12 – 14, 2019 at the various arenas listed above. Schedules and participating teams will be announced shortly, tickets and event passes can be purchased for games at the door.