Ontario/Central region

AAA Championships

Puck Drop at the 2016 All-Ontario Peewee AAA Championship

Day one is in the books at the 2016 All-Ontario Peewee AAA Championship with one team coming out of the gate quickly. The Don Mills Flyers (GTHL) book-ended the day with victories over both northern teams, the Nickel City Sons and Sudbury Wolves.

Sudbury is hosting the week-long tournament, which also has the Whitby Wildcats (OMHA), Ottawa Senators (HEO), Thunder Bay Kings (HNO) and Brantford 99ers (ALLIANCE) participating. Whitby and Ottawa were the only other teams to register a win on day one.

“We are so thrilled to be hosting this great event at Countryside Arena and know that every fan who comes out to support the 

Opening face-off at the 2016 All-Ontario Peewee AAA Championship.

boys will be impressed by the high calibre of play on display this week,” said Tammy Simpson, tournament co-chair.

Following the Opening Ceremony (photo below), the Flyers and Wolves officially opened the tournament. Don Mills picked up a 6-0 win, thanks to a natural hat trick from Alex Christopoulos and a four-point performance (2 g, 2 a) by Liam Arnsby.

“All of the teams here are playing for provincial pride,” said Michael Penman, Tournament Governing Chair and OHF Vice-President. “With teams here from Hockey Northwestern Ontario and Hockey Eastern Ontario, in addition to the four Ontario Hockey Federation teams, there is a lot on the line once the players step on the ice.”

Live streaming is available through www.fasthockey.com 
The OHF has been in existence since 1989 and is comprised of seven Member Partners: the Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario (Alliance), the Greater Toronto Hockey League (GTHL), Northern Ontario Hockey Association (NOHA), Ontario Hockey Association (OHA), the Ontario Hockey League (OHL), Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) and the Ontario Women’s Hockey Association (OWHA.)

– 30 –

For more information:

Tammy Simpson
2016 All-Ontario Peewee AAA Championship Host Committee

Will Metske
Ontario Hockey Federation
Manager, Membership Services and Events